Catalan books

Showing all 6 results

We have a growing number of Catalan books – Catalan poetry and prose, including work by writers from Valencia and the Balearics. In particular, we are proud of our list of women Catalan writers, Maria-Mercè Marçal, Montserrat Abelló, Noèlia Diaz Vicedo and (coming 2019) Clementina Arderiu and Dolors Miquel. All include English translations.

  • Unsleeping Sphere by Marius Sampere

    A modern long poem in the tradition of A. R. Ammons, Allen Ginsberg or John Ashbery published in the original Catalan together with English translation by D. Sam Abrams.

  • Salt, Catalan Poetry Book Front Cover

    The first collection of award-winning Catalan poet, playwright, fiction writer and translator, Ponç Pons’ work to be translated into English.

  • Josafat Book Cover

    A first English translation of a classic of Catalan modernism. From its first publication in 1906 this story of the sacrilegious love between Josafat, the bell-ringer and caretaker of Girona Cathedral, and Fineta, the prostitute, has shocked and enthralled generations of Catalan readers. It eventually led to its author and family being hounded out of Girona.

  • Bloody Roots – Book Front Cover

    A collection of poems that engage with the Western poetic tradition from a feminist perspective and explore the challenges a woman faces when she writes poetry, published in Catalan with English translations.

  • The Body's Reason – Poems in Catalan

    The Body’ Reason is the first book by Catalan poet Mari-Mercè Marçal to be translated into English. She is a key figure in Catalan poetry of the post-Franco era, who was actively engaged in the transition to democracy and the emergence of a feminist movement in Spain. Hers is a uniquely challenging voice expressing a distinctive Catalan gendered perspective.

  • Fifty love Poems Book Cover
    With a preface by Helena Buffery

    Fifty Love Poems is a collection of fifty poems about love in its various guises, ranging from erotic love and tenderness for missing loved ones to the passion for life and writing.