Poetry

Showing 1–16 of 39 results

  • Front cover of Seven Songs of Decline and other poems by Mário de Sá-Carneiro

    Written at the crossroads of late Symbolism and the avant-garde movements of Futurism and Cubism, Sá-Carneiro’s literature is breath-taking in its originality.

  • Front cover of The Name Of Things and other poems by Sophia de Mello Breyner Andresen

    Sophia de Mello Breyner Andresen’s poems have all the intensity of childhood memories, but are imbued with an adult awareness of mortality.

  • Front cover of The Last Model Pādejais Modeļs Poems in Latgalian

    The legacy of post-Soviet societies, the historical and contemporary status of women in the region, and visible influences from other literatures and cultures make Latgalian poetry a must-read for all interested in the art of poetry.

  • Front cover of A Speech of Birds Poems by Victoria Field

    Available now.

    A Speech of Birds brings together poems of place and time, tracing the course of a calendar year with its epiphanies and losses.

     

  • Cover of Parallel Rivers Selected Poems by Màrius Torres

    This is joy – to be a bird, passing through the sky where a storm left forceful peace.

    This is death – to close your eyes, to hear the silence as when the music begins.

  • Front cover of The Compound Heart by Clementina Arderiu

    In this first Selection of Clementina Arderiu’s work to be published in English, we encounter a Catalan poet who is both classic and startlingly modern.

  • Front cover of Truck Driver Haikus by Dolors Miquel

    “A haiku is so short that it gives you no time to reflect. It’s just an impression. I don’t want to talk about grand emotions in a world full of washing machines. No lyrical images. Only punches. ”

    – Dolors Miquel

  • Front cover of L’orella de l’eternitat / The Ear of Eternity by Xavier Panadès i Blas

    L’orella de l’eternitat / The Ear of Eternity is a striking collection of poetry in Catalan with translations into English, that explores the world of the Catalan exile.

  • Front cover image of Virgil’s Fountain A Seafarer’s Tale A poem in Cornish by Tim Saunders

    A poem in Cornish

    Available in April 2019

    Tim Saunders has brought us a poem of love and loss in which myth strives to give shape to unbearable memory.

     

  • Front cover image of People Like Us, Poems in Livonian by Valts Ernštreits

    In People Like Us you will wander through Latvia meeting Livonian characters as they struggle with the burdens and responsibilities of their language and heritage. You will explore ancient lands and lands yet to be discovered.

  • Unsleeping Sphere by Marius Sampere

    A modern long poem in the tradition of A. R. Ammons, Allen Ginsberg or John Ashbery published in the original Catalan together with English translation by D. Sam Abrams.

  • Dictatorship of Poetry Book Cover

    This is the first translation into English of a major collection of work by the celebrated Georgian poet, performer and human rights activitist, Zurab Rtveliashvili.

  • Salt, Catalan Poetry Book Front Cover

    The first collection of award-winning Catalan poet, playwright, fiction writer and translator, Ponç Pons’ work to be translated into English.

  • Darkening Myrking Front Cover

    The first-ever bilingual Faroese–English publication of a work of Faroese literature. In the Faroese ballad tradition of wandering narratives, award-winning Faroese author Sissal Kampmann tells stories distilled into poetry.

  • Diary of Crosses Green – Martin Veiga

    In Diary of Crosses Green, Martín Veiga reflects on time and its mysteries as he takes us at a wanderer’s pace through the light and shadow of a life lived along Cork’s River Lee.

  • Bloody Roots – Book Front Cover

    A collection of poems that engage with the Western poetic tradition from a feminist perspective and explore the challenges a woman faces when she writes poetry, published in Catalan with English translations.