Poetry

Showing 1–16 of 31 results

  • Front cover image of Virgil’s Fountain A Seafarer’s Tale A poem in Cornish by Tim Saunders

    A poem in Cornish

    Available in April 2019

    Tim Saunders has brought us a poem of love and loss in which myth strives to give shape to unbearable memory.

     

  • Front cover image of People Like Us, Poems in Livonian by Valts Ernštreits

    Available in April 2019

    In People Like Us you will wander through Latvia meeting Livonian characters as they struggle with the burdens and responsibilities of their language and heritage. You will explore ancient lands and lands yet to be discovered.

  • Unsleeping Sphere by Marius Sampere

    A modern long poem in the tradition of A. R. Ammons, Allen Ginsberg or John Ashbery published in the original Catalan together with English translation by D. Sam Abrams.

  • Dictatorship of Poetry Book Cover

    This is the first translation into English of a major collection of work by the celebrated Georgian poet, performer and human rights activitist, Zurab Rtveliashvili.

  • Salt, Catalan Poetry Book Front Cover

    The first collection of award-winning Catalan poet, playwright, fiction writer and translator, Ponç Pons’ work to be translated into English.

  • Darkening Myrking Front Cover

    The first-ever bilingual Faroese–English publication of a work of Faroese literature. In the Faroese ballad tradition of wandering narratives, award-winning Faroese author Sissal Kampmann tells stories distilled into poetry.

  • Diary of Crosses Green – Martin Veiga

    In Diary of Crosses Green, Martín Veiga reflects on time and its mysteries as he takes us at a wanderer’s pace through the light and shadow of a life lived along Cork’s River Lee.

  • Bloody Roots – Book Front Cover

    A collection of poems that engage with the Western poetic tradition from a feminist perspective and explore the challenges a woman faces when she writes poetry, published in Catalan with English translations.

  • A House With No Doors Book Cover

    This anthology is the first to present contemporary Georgian women poets translated into English alongside the original Georgian.

  • A Proper Mizz Maze Book Cover

    Set around the villages, lanes and works of Clemo’s native china clay country in the 1930s, the stories of A Proper Mizz-Maze record the landscape, culture and an underrepresented language form, and they do it in an attractively light-hearted way.

  • Baggage, A Book of Leavings cOver

    How does anyone survive the ending of a marriage? In Baggage, both Victoria Field’s sense of wonder and awareness of loss continually fascinate. She packs her bag and joins hundreds of other pilgrims, but only a poet could depict so acutely how a marriage fails.

  • Interim Nation by Alan M. Kent

    Identity, language and landscape – and the poet’s hopes for an autonomous Cornwall – remain at the core of this collection; but there are also new expeditions and inventive forms here as Kent looks towards France, Brittany, New Zealand, America – even outer space – to offer an ‘interim’ picture of the poet’s spiritual journey.

  • D.M. Thomas Family Bible Book Cover

    In this new collection of poetry D. M. Thomas celebrates his Cornish mining forefathers in a moving and majestic sequence inspired by his inherited Victorian Family Bible. It laments the passing of old certainties, including a unified Cornwall, now split between the true Cornish and ‘rich interlopers’.

  • The Way Back Poems in Sami
    Out of stock

    In an increasingly globalised world, indigenous societies like the Sámi are losing their connections with nature, their land despoiled by intrusive development, traditional livelihoods becoming part of the tourist industry.

  • Wave Hub, New Poetry From Cornwall

    Cornwall is at the hub of the Celtic Sea, and this collection of new poetry celebrates the best verse to emerge from there in recent times.

  • Mrs English & Other Women

    A new collection of poetry by D.M.Thomas explores erotic memories, from his first sexual ejaculation (of a kind) at five to a brief appearance of Eros in a cancer clinic at seventy-seven.