The Arts

Showing 1–16 of 64 results

  • Front cover of The Compound Heart by Clementina Arderiu

    In this first Selection of Clementina Arderiu’s work to be published in English, we encounter a Catalan poet who is both classic and startlingly modern.

    Pre-order now for delivery in mid-November 2019

  • Front cover of Truck Driver Haikus by Dolors Miquel

    “A haiku is so short that it gives you no time to reflect. It’s just an impression. I don’t want to talk about grand emotions in a world full of washing machines. No lyrical images. Only punches. ”

    – Dolors Miquel

    Pre-order now for delivery in mid-November 2019

  • Front cover of L’orella de l’eternitat / The Ear of Eternity by Xavier Panadès i Blas

    L’orella de l’eternitat / The Ear of Eternity is a striking collection of poetry in Catalan with translations into English, that explores the world of the Catalan exile.

  • Front cover image of Virgil’s Fountain A Seafarer’s Tale A poem in Cornish by Tim Saunders

    A poem in Cornish

    Available in April 2019

    Tim Saunders has brought us a poem of love and loss in which myth strives to give shape to unbearable memory.

     

  • Front cover image of People Like Us, Poems in Livonian by Valts Ernštreits

    In People Like Us you will wander through Latvia meeting Livonian characters as they struggle with the burdens and responsibilities of their language and heritage. You will explore ancient lands and lands yet to be discovered.

  • Front cover image of Words and Music in Irish Literature edited by Antonio Raúl de Toro Santos

    Available 8 March 2019

    Order now to avoid disappointment

    Music and literature have always been closely connected in Ireland – to an extent perhaps unknown in other western European literatures.

  • The Red Vial – Wilkie Collins

    The first publication of Wilkie Collins’s script for the Olympic production of the thrilling three-act drama, The Red Vial. A complete, annotated transcript of the play, a scholarly introduction and contemporary illustrations and reviews.

  • Unsleeping Sphere by Marius Sampere

    A modern long poem in the tradition of A. R. Ammons, Allen Ginsberg or John Ashbery published in the original Catalan together with English translation by D. Sam Abrams.

  • Dictatorship of Poetry Book Cover

    This is the first translation into English of a major collection of work by the celebrated Georgian poet, performer and human rights activitist, Zurab Rtveliashvili.

  • The Southern Harvest Book Cover
    Including the words and music for nearly 300 songs

    An omnibus volume containing The Constant Lovers and The Foggy Dew, completing the series originally edited by Frank Purslow and published by the English Folk Dance and Song Society in the late 60s and early 70s. Foreword by Martin Carthy MBE.

     

  • Salt, Catalan Poetry Book Front Cover

    The first collection of award-winning Catalan poet, playwright, fiction writer and translator, Ponç Pons’ work to be translated into English.

  • Hark Cornish Christmas Carols
    With two CDs containing songs recorded live in Cornwall

    Hark! The Glad Sound of Cornish Carols is a record of carols sung throughout Cornwall, with scores and words, the background to the carols, the composers and reminiscences of people who sang them.

    Back in stock in mid-November

  • Darkening Myrking Front Cover

    The first-ever bilingual Faroese–English publication of a work of Faroese literature. In the Faroese ballad tradition of wandering narratives, award-winning Faroese author Sissal Kampmann tells stories distilled into poetry.

  • Diary of Crosses Green – Martin Veiga

    In Diary of Crosses Green, Martín Veiga reflects on time and its mysteries as he takes us at a wanderer’s pace through the light and shadow of a life lived along Cork’s River Lee.

  • Celebrating Pevsner Book Cover

    Papers from the 2015 Cornish Buildings Group conference ‘Only a Cornishman would have the endurance to carve intractable granite’

  • Bloody Roots – Book Front Cover

    A collection of poems that engage with the Western poetic tradition from a feminist perspective and explore the challenges a woman faces when she writes poetry, published in Catalan with English translations.