The Dreamt Sea

an Anthology of Anglo-Cornish Poetry 1928-2004

Edited by Alan M .Kent

With a foreword by John Hurst

Following Alan Kent’s acclaimed anthology Voices from West Barbary, covering the years 1549 to 1928, the present collection brings his survey of Cornwall’s poetic tradition up to the present day.


In stock

Changes in the political and economic climate in Cornwall – the decline of the traditional industries of fishing and mining, the rise of tourism and the influence of the mass media – make this anthology of Cornish poetry timely, as fifty writers, new talents as well as familiar names – Thomas Hardy, W.S. Graham, D.M. Thomas, John Betjeman, Hugh MacDiarmid, A.L. Rowse, Charles Causley, Jack Clemo, Tim Saunders, Anne Treneer, Bill Headdon, Frank Ruhrmund and Alan M. Kent himself – tackle themes ranging from Methodism to neo-Paganism, the landscape, emigration, Cornish identity and language and the artistic inheritance of the St Ives school. The Dreamt Sea is essential for anyone interested in literary Cornwall in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.

Charles Causley wrote of Voices from West Barbary: ‘A valuable piece of scholarship wonderfully well-done… a genuine contribution to the literature of Cornwall… irresistible!’




You may also like…

  • Interim Nation by Alan M. Kent

    Identity, language and landscape – and the poet’s hopes for an autonomous Cornwall – remain at the core of this collection; but there are also new expeditions and inventive forms here as Kent looks towards France, Brittany, New Zealand, America – even outer space – to offer an ‘interim’ picture of the poet’s spiritual journey.

  • The Mouth of Truth front cover

    This is a compelling collection, furious and lyrical, which says much about the relationship between the writer and the Cornish nation.

  • The Place of Hope – Alan M Kent

    The product of twenty years’ work, this volume draws together poems from collections published between 1990 and 2010.

  • Wave Hub, New Poetry From Cornwall

    Cornwall is at the hub of the Celtic Sea, and this collection of new poetry celebrates the best verse to emerge from there in recent times.