The Arts

Showing 1–16 of 59 results

  • The Red Vial – Wilkie Collins

    The first publication of Wilkie Collins’s script for the Olympic production of the thrilling three-act drama, The Red Vial. A complete, annotated transcript of the play, a scholarly introduction and contemporary illustrations and reviews.

  • Unsleeping Sphere by Marius Sampere

    A modern long poem in the tradition of A. R. Ammons, Allen Ginsberg or John Ashbery published in the original Catalan together with English translation by D. Sam Abrams.

  • Dictatorship of Poetry Book Cover

    This is the first translation into English of a major collection of work by the celebrated Georgian poet, performer and human rights activitist, Zurab Rtveliashvili.

  • The Southern Harvest Book Cover
    Including the words and music for nearly 300 songs

    An omnibus volume containing The Constant Lovers and The Foggy Dew, completing the series originally edited by Frank Purslow and published by the English Folk Dance and Song Society in the late 60s and early 70s. Foreword by Martin Carthy MBE.

     

  • Salt, Catalan Poetry Book Front Cover

    The first collection of award-winning Catalan poet, playwright, fiction writer and translator, Ponç Pons’ work to be translated into English.

  • Hark Cornish Christmas Carols
    Out of stock
    With two CDs containing songs recorded live in Cornwall

    Hark! The Glad Sound of Cornish Carols is a record of carols sung throughout Cornwall, with scores and words, the background to the carols, the composers and reminiscences of people who sang them.

  • Darkening Myrking Front Cover

    The first-ever bilingual Faroese–English publication of a work of Faroese literature. In the Faroese ballad tradition of wandering narratives, award-winning Faroese author Sissal Kampmann tells stories distilled into poetry.

  • Diary of Crosses Green – Martin Veiga

    In Diary of Crosses Green, Martín Veiga reflects on time and its mysteries as he takes us at a wanderer’s pace through the light and shadow of a life lived along Cork’s River Lee.

  • Celebrating Pevsner Book Cover

    Papers from the 2015 Cornish Buildings Group conference ‘Only a Cornishman would have the endurance to carve intractable granite’

  • Bloody Roots – Book Front Cover

    A collection of poems that engage with the Western poetic tradition from a feminist perspective and explore the challenges a woman faces when she writes poetry, published in Catalan with English translations.

  • The East End my Birthright

    A memoir of Albert Turpin’s remarkable life illustrated by Turpin’s paintings and drawings as well as cuttings, posters and photographs.

  • A House With No Doors Book Cover

    This anthology is the first to present contemporary Georgian women poets translated into English alongside the original Georgian.

  • A Proper Mizz Maze Book Cover

    Set around the villages, lanes and works of Clemo’s native china clay country in the 1930s, the stories of A Proper Mizz-Maze record the landscape, culture and an underrepresented language form, and they do it in an attractively light-hearted way.

  • Baggage, A Book of Leavings cOver

    How does anyone survive the ending of a marriage? In Baggage, both Victoria Field’s sense of wonder and awareness of loss continually fascinate. She packs her bag and joins hundreds of other pilgrims, but only a poet could depict so acutely how a marriage fails.

  • Interim Nation by Alan M. Kent

    Identity, language and landscape – and the poet’s hopes for an autonomous Cornwall – remain at the core of this collection; but there are also new expeditions and inventive forms here as Kent looks towards France, Brittany, New Zealand, America – even outer space – to offer an ‘interim’ picture of the poet’s spiritual journey.

  • D.M. Thomas Family Bible Book Cover

    In this new collection of poetry D. M. Thomas celebrates his Cornish mining forefathers in a moving and majestic sequence inspired by his inherited Victorian Family Bible. It laments the passing of old certainties, including a unified Cornwall, now split between the true Cornish and ‘rich interlopers’.